Which cases comes under Lok Adalat?

Civil cases, matrimonial cases, MACT cases and petty offence cases are mainly referred for lok adalat.

Which state started Lok Adalats first?

The first Lok Adalats were held in Gujarat in 1982 and in Chennai in 1986. Section 22 B of The Legal Services Authorities Act 1987 provides for the establishment of Permanent Lok Adalats (PLA) for exercising jurisdiction in respect of one or more public utility services (PUS).

What kind of cases Cannot be placed before Lok Adalat?

Any case pending before any court. 2. Any dispute which has not been brought before any court and is likely to be filed before the court. Provided that any matter relating to an offence not compoundable under the law shall not be settled in Lok Adalat.

What is the jurisdiction of Lok Adalat?

Jurisdiction Of Lok Adalat: A Lok Adalat shall have jurisdiction to determine and to arrive at a compromise or settlement between the parties to a dispute in respect of: Any case pending before any court; or. Any matter which is falling within the jurisdiction of any court and is not brought before such court.

Can Lok Adalat order be challenged?

“if any of the parties is aggrieved by the award of Lok Adalat for genuine reasons, the remedy available would be by filing a petition under Article 226 and/or Article 227 of the Constitution as has been held by the Apex Court in State of Pubjaband Another -vs- Jalour Singh and Others.”

Who is the father of Lok Adalat?

Answer: Dr. Justice A.S. Anand, Judge, Supreme Court of India took over as the Executive Chairman of National Legal Services Authority on 17the July, 1997. Soon after assuming the office, His Lordship initiated steps for making the National Legal Services Authority functional.

Who established Lok Adalat?

The Lok Adalat was first started in Gujarat in March 1982 and slowly spread across the country. The advent of Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 gave a statutory authority to Lok Adalats, pursuant to the constitutional mandate in Article 39-A of the Indian Constitution.

How many types of Lok Adalat are there?

Karnataka Government established 6 Permanent Lok Adalats- one each at Bengaluru, Belagavi, Dharwad, Kalaburagi, Mysore and Mangaluru. This establishment of Permanent Lok Adalats is indeed a boon for settlement of disputes relating to Public Utility Services quickly and without any expenses.

Can Lok Adalat decision be challenged?

Can Lok Adalat take criminal cases?

Yes, Lok Adalat deals with criminal cases (compoundable offences). But, the Lok Adalat shall have no jurisdiction in respect of any case or matter relating to an offence not compoundable under any law.