What is the EAC Common Market Protocol?

The Common Market Protocol allows workers from any Partner State to ac- cept employment within any other EAC country. They cannot be discrimi- nated against on the basis of their nationality. Furthermore, a worker will have the right to social security benefits and can be accompanied by a spouse and child.

What is the Common Market for East African countries?

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) is the largest regional economic organization in Africa, with 19 member states and a population of about 390 million. COMESA has a free trade area, with 19 member states, and launched a customs union in 2009.

Is EAC a free trade area?

The EAC is one of the leading regional economic organizations in sub-Saharan Africa and has made great strides in recent years toward integrating the economies of its member states. It has established a free trade area and a customs union and is working toward a common market.

Which common market replaced East Africa Community?

In 1967, the EACSO was superseded by the EAC. This body aimed to strengthen the ties between the members through a common market, a common customs tariff, and a range of public services to achieve balanced economic growth within the region.

Does the EAC have a monetary union?

The EAMU Protocol was adopted in accordance with the EAC Treaty and signed on 30th November 2013; it lays groundwork for a monetary union within 10 years and allows the EAC Partner States to progressively converge their currencies into a single currency in the Community.

What are the importance of the East African common market?

Common Market EAC guides the free movement of goods, people, labour, services and capital from one Partner State to another as well as the rights of establishment and residence without restrictions.

How does Kenya benefit from EAC?

EAC guides the free movement of goods, people, labour, services and capital from one Partner State to another as well as the rights of establishment and residence without restrictions.

What are the challenges of EAC?

Constraints and challenges of the EAC Agriculture sector

  • Poor Governance.
  • Inadequate legal and regulatory framework.
  • Insecurity.
  • Inadequate access to productive resources.
  • Inadequate participation of local communities.
  • Poor physical infrastructure and utilities.
  • Weak institutional framework.
  • Low public expenditure.

What are the benefits of EAC?

The EAC aims to achieve prosperity, competitiveness, security, stability and political unification in East Africa. The partner countries – Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi – aim to create a political federation that would expand and reinforce economic, political, social and cultural integration.

What are the main objectives of EAC?

What are the benefits of East African Community?

Does Africa have a central bank?

The African Central Bank (ACB) is one of the original five financial institutions and specialized agencies of the African Union. Over time, it will take over responsibilities of the African Monetary Fund.

Why is EAC called a Common Market?

The Common Market is the second Regional Integration milestone of the East African Community (EAC), which has been in force since 2010, in line with the provisions of the EAC Treaty. It follows the Customs Union, which became fully-fledged in January 2010.

What are advantages of EAC?

Why is EAC important?

Why does EAC fail?

In June 1977 member countries failed to agree on the General Fund Services bud- get; Kenya refused to commit any funds to finance the 1977/78 budget and announced its withdrawal. After the failure to keep afloat the General Fund Services, the EAC ceased to operate in July 1977.

What are challenges of EAC?

Challenges identified include: undeveloped infrastructure, economic dominance of some of the member states with economic benefits of increased productive advantage skewed in their favour; setbacks in regional integration efforts within EAC due to multiple memberships in other trade blocs by member states as well as …

How does EAC promote trade?

Trade and Investment Framework Agreements The EAC in 2011 signed framework agreements with the USA and China with the aim of boosting / promoting commodity trade, exchange visits by business people and co-operation in investment among others.

How does EAC promote peace?

Through the meetings of the EAC Police Chiefs, cooperation has continued to be fostered among EAC Partner State Police Forces / Services. Decisions were reached to harmonise police rankings and establish a Police liaison office within the structure of the proposed Directorate of Peace and Security.

Who owns banks in Africa?


Rank Name of Owner Percentage Ownership
1 South African Reserve Bank (SARB) 50.00
2 Government Employees Pension Fund (GEPF) 25.00
3 FirstRand Bank Limited 7.00
4 Standard Bank of South Africa Limited 6.00

What are some of the opportunities for the EAC Common Market?

Infrastructure Development. Access to afforable and efficient transport, energy, and communication for increased regional Competitiveness.

  • Agriculture, Food Security and Rural Development.
  • Industrialization.
  • Natural Resources & Environment Management.
  • Tourism, Trade & Services Development.
  • Human Capital Development.
  • How many countries are in EAC?

    The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of 7 Partner States: The Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Uganda, and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

    What are the advantages of EAC?

    What is the EAC common market protocol?

    The EAC Common Market Protocol was signed in Arusha on 20th November 2009 and came into effect on 1st July 2010, The Partner States agreed that each Partner States would identify, harmonize and align its national laws relevant to and touching on the implementation of the protocol within one year from the date of signing the protocol,

    What is the EAC’s liberal stance on freedom of movement?

    To accelerate economic growth and development, it means that the EAC Partner States maintain a liberal stance towards the four Freedoms of movement for all the factors of production and two Rights between themselves. These Freedoms and Rights include: Share information for the smooth implementation of the Protocol.

    How does the EAC benefit from AGOA?

    EAC is benefiting from AGOA, the cornerstone of U.S. economic engagement with the countries of sub-Saharan Africa. Four EAC Partner States receive full duty-free and quota-free access to the EU for all their exports with the exception of arms and armaments.

    How many EAC countries have duty-free access to the EU?

    Four EAC Partner States receive full duty-free and quota-free access to the EU for all their exports with the exception of arms and armaments.